A picture is worth a thousand words: 10 Day challenge

overrated

Day 1. Real life is Overrated

“Limitations live only in our minds. But if we use our imaginations, our possibilities become limitless.” Jamie Paolinetti.

Artist’s boundaries are limited by their imagination; hopefully you haven’t lost it by becoming an adult. Since an individual’s imagination is limitless, there is no reality that cannot be created.

I draw because real life is overrated. Lets just be honest, life sucks sometimes. When I draw I completely block out the world around me, and I am able to escape the overwhelming feelings that I get with the pressure of everyday life. With a pencil in my hand and a blank piece of paper I am able to create a new world where I am in control and have no boundaries. When I draw I don’t just escape reality, I create my own.

Here is a poem that I wrote a few years ago about how I feel when I draw:

When I do art I go to a place you have never seen. I have the power to stop time and be free within it; I use that power when I need time, an avoidance of reality, a morning after the night before. I would freeze and wouldn’t flinch and each time the frozen moment drew out a little longer- desperate for more. The Queen of a silent world, where I and only me had the liberty of freedom. I would walk between people stopped in the ignominy of their trivial lives. It’s the only moment where I seemed to be free of his shadow. There were times when I went to the sanctuary of the fallen city and let my silence wrap around me, I pretended not to search, although my gaze would sweep upward. I made pictures from scars in the wood and used the stains to tell myself stories. My fist wrapped around my pencil, my fingers turned white, waited for the jump. If I could keep myself focused I could use it, Give myself a little freedom… And concentrate.

Leave a Reply

